Locked out

From xat wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Other languages:
English • ‎Nederlands • ‎Tagalog • ‎Türkçe • ‎español • ‎français • ‎italiano • ‎magyar • ‎polski • ‎português do Brasil • ‎română • ‎srpski (latinica)‎ • ‎العربية • ‎ไทย

Being locked out means that your account is blocked and you can no longer access it. When you try to login, error E29 (Locked out) appears with the message:

**Security check: This account is locked. You can only log in at home. Please read: xat account locking. E29**

When does it happen?[edit]

(image 1) Account security settings. The arrow shows the option that locks your account in your current location.

This happens when you turn on the IP address option in your account security settings (see image 1) and you change your IP address.

An IP address change occurs in the following situations:

  • When you change location
  • When you change Internet service provider
  • When using a VPN or a proxy
  • When using a dynamic IP

What do I do if I am locked out?[edit]

Recovering your previous IP address[edit]

If you are using a VPN/proxy, turn it off. Otherwise, try to return to your old location. If that does not work, read below.

Opening a forum request[edit]

Ticket request form.

Create a forum account at https://forum.xat.com/register (if you don't have one already) and go to https://forum.xat.com/requests/open-a-ticket/?do=form

For "Type of Request", select "Locked Out" and type the xat username of the account, the xat ID and the email associated with it, then, click on save. After a brief waiting period, you will receive an email with a link to view and respond to a ticket that has been created for you. Make sure to click on the link in the email to reply to the ticket. Do not respond to the email.

The volunteer that answers your ticket will ask you some security questions to verify that you own the account. Answer the questions as accurately as possible. If your answers are correct, your account will be unlocked.

  • Please note that all unlocks come with a 7-14 day hold (can't trade/transfer for 7 days). This is placed on your account for security reasons.

How to avoid being Locked Out[edit]

Even though it isn't recommended to turn off a security protection, you should turn off Account Locking before trying to log in with another IP address.

Note: You will only be able to turn on Account Locking if you are at your home location. If you wish to enable Account Locking at a different IP address, you will need a Location Update.